Mies van de Rohe Award 2017

Friday May 26th Kamiel Klaase (NL Architects) and Xander Vermeulen Windsant received the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture Mies van der Rohe Award 2017 for DeFlat Kleiburg. It is the first time the prize has been awarded to a housing project and a re-use project, since the prize was established in 1988. The Mies van der Rohe Award is considered to be the second most prestigious architecture prize, after the Pritzker Prize. An international jury, chaired by Stephen Bates, noted that by awarding the prize to Kleiburg, they want to draw attention to the need for architects to adress the everyday living environment for citizens. According to the jury Kleiburg is an exemplar how architecture can contribute in an innovative way to the housing crisis now facing cities throughout Europe.

The prize consists of an statue and a sum of €60.000.